10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28

Inyo County Superior Court

168 North Edwards Street FILE D
Post Office Drawer U

Independence, California 93526 APR 1 0 2020

Tel: (760) 872-3038
INYO CO. SUPERIOR COURT

PAMELA M. FOSTER, CLERK
R

SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA

COUNTY OF INYO

In Re the Matter of STANDING ORDER NO.

THE INYO COUNTY BAIL SCHEDULE SISOAD-2020-055

ORDER IMPLEMENTING PUBLIC
HEALTH EMERGENCY BAIL
SCHEUDLE.
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By action taken at a special meeting of the Judicial
Council of California on April 6, 2020, the Judicial Council
adopted that certain “Emergency Rule 4”, which enacts a
statewide Emergency Bail Schedule. A copy of Emergency Rule 4 is
attached hereto and hereby incorporated herein by this reference
(hereafter, the “Emergency Rule”). The Emergency Rule provides
in part: “Not later than 5 p.m. on April 13, 2020, each superior

court must apply the statewide Emergency Bail Schedule” to both
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all persons currently held in pretrial custody, and to every
accused person hereafter arrested and booked in the Inyo County
Jail for pretrial custody. Accordingly, with all the Judges of
the Inyo County Superior Court concurring, pursuant to Penal
Code § 1269b, subdivision (c), the Emergency Rule, and other

authority, and good cause appearing therefor,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the statewide Emergency Bail
Schedule enacted by the Emergency Rule is hereby implemented in
the County of Inyo and made applicable to all cases of pretrial
detention, and all cases of post-trial detention where the
grounds for detention is an allegation of violation of the terms
of the person’s post-trial supervision (such as summary or
formal probation, parcle, post-release community supervision, or
mandatory supervision). This Order shall remain in effect until
further order of this court, or until the Emergency Rule is
amended or repealed by the Judicial Council of California, or
until 90 days after the day on which the Governor of California
declares that the state of emergency relating to the COVID-19

pandemic is lifted, whichever is the first to occur.

Except as amended by this Order, the Court’s previously-
adopted “Order Adopting Bail Schedule,” Standing Order No. 17-
046, filed July 11, 2017, remains in full force and effect, with
the following change: The reference in the order to the “Uniform
Bail and Penalty Schedules 2017” is hereby amended to read:

“Uniform Bail and Penalty Schedules 2020.”"
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This Order is hereby adopted, and the same shall become

fully effective and implemented at 5:00 p.m. on Monday, April

13, 2020.

SO ORDERED.

Dated: April 10, 2020.

N Tl

Bflan J. Lamb
Pre81d1 Judge
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exchange and authentication of documentary evidence; e-filing and e-service:
the use of remote interpreting: and the use of remote reporting and electronic
recording to make the official record of an action or proceeding.

Sunset of rule

This rule will remain in effect until 90 days after the Governor declares that the
state of emergency related to the COVID-19 pandemic is lifted, or until amended or
repealed by the Judicial Council.

Emergency rule 4. Emergency Bail Schedule

(a)

(9]

Purpose

Notwithstanding any other law. this rule establishes a statewide Emergency Bail
Schedule, which is intended to promulgate uniformity in the handling of certain
offenses during the state of emergency related to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Mandatory application

No later than 5 p.m. on April 13, 2020, each superior court must apply the
statewide Emergency Bail Schedule:

(1) Toevery accused person arrested and in pretrial custody.

(2) Toevery accused person held in pretrial custody.

Setting of bail and exceptions

Under the statewide Emergency Bail Schedule, bail for all misdemeanor and felony

offenses must be set at $0, with the exception of only the offenses listed below:

(1) A serious felony, asdefined in Penal Code section 1192.7(c), or a violent
felony, as defined in Penal Code section 667.5(c);

(2) A felony violation of Penal Code section 69:

(3) A violation of Penal Code section 166(c)(1):

(4) A violation of Penal Code section 136.1 when punishment is imposed under
section 136.1(c):
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A violation of Penal Code section 262:

A violation of Penal Code sections 243(e)(1) or 273.5;

A violation of Penal Code section 273.6 if the detained person made threats
to kill or harm, has engaged in violence against. or has gone to the residence
or workplace of, the protected party;

A violation of Penal Code section 422 where the offense is punished as a
felony;

A violation of Penal Code section 646.9:

(10) A violation of an offense listed in Penal Code section 290(c):

(11) A violation of Vehicle Code sections 23152 or 23153;

(12) A felony violation of Penal Code section 463; and

(13) A violation of Penal Code section 29800.

(d) Ability to deny bail

Nothing in the Emergency Bail Schedule restricts the ability of the court to deny

bail as authorized by article I, section 12, or 28(f)(3) of the California Constitution.

(e) Application of countywide bail schedule

(0]

The current countywide bail schedule of each superior court must remain in
effect for all offenses listed in exceptions (1) through (13) of the Emergency
Bail Schedule, including any count-specific conduct enhancements and any
status enhancements.

Each superior court retains the authority to reduce the amount of bail listed in
the court’s current countywide bail schedule for offenses in exceptions (1)

through (13), or for any offenses not in conflict with the Emergency Bail
Schedule.

(0  Bail for violations of post-conviction supervision

(0]

Under the statewide Emergency Bail Schedule, bail for all violations of
misdemeanor probation. whether the arrest is with or without a bench
warrant, must be set at $0.
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(2) Bail for all violations of felony probation, parole. post-release community
supervision, or mandatory supervision, must be set in accord with the
statewide Emergency Bail Schedule. or for the bail amount in the court’s
countywide schedule of bail for charges of conviction listed in exceptions (1)
through (13), including any enhancements.

(g) Sunsetofrule

This rule will remain in effect until 90 days after the Governor declares that the
state of emergency related to the COVID-19 pandemic is lifted. or until amended or
repealed by the Judicial Council.

Emergency rule 5. Personal appearance waivers of defendants during health
emergency

(a) Application

Notwithstanding any other law, including Penal Code sections 865 and 977, this
rule applies to all criminal proceedings except cases alleging murder with special
circumstances and cases in which the defendant is currently incarcerated in state
prison, as governed by Penal Code section 977.2.

(b) Types ofpersonal appearance waivers

(1) With the consent of the defendant, the court must allow a defendant to waive
his or her personal appearance and to appear remotely, either through video
or telephonic _appearance, when the technology is available.

(2) With the consent of the defendant. the court must allow a defendant to waive
his or her appearance and permit counsel to appear on his or her behalf. The
court must accept a defendant’s waiver of appearance or personal appearance
when:

(A) Counsel for the defendant makes an on the record oral representation
that counsel has fully discussed the waiver and its implications with the
defendant and the defendant has authorized counsel to proceed as
counsel represents to the court:

(B) Electronic communication from the defendant as confirmed by
defendant’s counsel; or
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