

JUDICIAL COUNCIL OF CALIFORNIA 455 Golden Gate Avenue, 5th Floor San Francisco, CA 94102-3688 Tel (415) 865-4200 Fax (415) 865-4586 TDD (415) 865-8004 www.courts.ca.gov

FACT SHEET

August 2019

One-Day or One-Trial Jury Service

One-day or one-trial jury service is a statewide policy designed to improve jury service in California.

How It Works

Californians are required to participate in jury service only once every 12 months. There are four ways to fulfill this obligation:

- 1. Be assigned to on-call or standby jury service. The juror telephones the court or visits a Web site to determine if he or she must appear in person. A potential juror may serve no more than 1 day on on-call service or 5 days on standby telephone service. The option selected for the juror varies by court. Serving on call or on standby satisfies the juror's obligation.
- 2. Appear in person for jury service. The juror appears in person at the courthouse. If he or she is not chosen for a trial or assigned to a courtroom for jury selection on the first day of scheduled service, he or she has satisfied this obligation.
- 3. Appear in person for jury service, be assigned to a courtroom for jury selection, but not be chosen for a trial. Dismissal by a judicial officer satisfies the juror's obligation.
- 4. Appear in person for jury service, be assigned to a courtroom for jury selection, and be chosen for a trial. Service in that trial to verdict or until dismissed by the judicial officer satisfies the juror's obligation.

While jury service is required by state law, the courts recognize that it impacts businesses and employees. The one-day or one-trial system is designed to reduce unproductive waiting time of jurors as well as the potential for lost income, and it reduces the uncertainty of when and for how long employees will be unavailable for work.

History

The Judicial Council adopted rule 2.1002 of the California Rules of Court and enacted the one-day or one-trial policy in state courts effective July 1, 1999. At the time the rule was adopted, more than 20 superior courts in California's 58 counties reported they had already adopted a one-day or one-trial system. By May 2002, with the successful implementation of one-day or one-trial jury service at the Superior Court of Los Angeles County, the new system was effective statewide.

Rule 2.1002—Length of juror service

California Rules of Court, rule 2.1002(c) states that:

"Each trial court system must implement a juror management program under which a person has fulfilled his or her jury service obligation when the person has:

- "(1) Served on one trial until discharged;
- "(2) Been assigned on one day to one or more trial departments for jury selection and served through the completion of jury selection or until excused by the jury commissioner;
- "(3) Attended court but was not assigned to a trial department for selection of a jury before the end of that day;
- "(4) Served one day on call; or
- "(5) Served no more than five court days on telephone standby."

Benefits for Employees and Employers

The one-day or one-trial system takes the waiting out of jury duty and reduces the potential for lost income for both employees and employers. Before the system was enacted, prospective jurors had to be available for up to 10 days in some counties. Now, potential jurors need to report for only one day to find out whether they will continue to serve. The system also reduces uncertainty about when and for how long employees will be unavailable for work.

California Juror Web Site

For more information on the one-day or one-trial jury system, visit the Jury Information Resource Center on the California Courts Web site at http://www.courts.ca.gov/juryservice.htm.

Contact:

Stephen Michael Tow, Senior Analyst, Jury Improvement Program, JuryInfo@jud.ca.gov

Updated August 3, 2019